Community

Over 14,000 customers around the world complete their projects faster by using Protocase to manufacture their custom electronic enclosures and parts.

Customer Spotlight

Sept 2014

Recreating a Truly Classical Musical Product

What started out as a weekend hobby, ended up turning into a re-creation of a truly classic musical product. James J. Klacik, a professional engineer by trade, has always had a deep passion for the iconic guitar sound of rock n roll's 60s and 70s era. One of those iconic and unique sound effects was produced by the Uni-Vibe, made most famous by Jimi Hendrix at Woodstock.

As a musician, you can appreciate a musical product that is true to its name and likewise so does Klacik. The Uni–Vibe was a guitar effects pedal that was made in Japan in the late 1960's and early 1970's that gave the sound, taste and even smell of pure "psychedelic" rock. When asked about his opinion on the product, Klacik stated that "the Uni-Vibe was noteworthy in that it was housed in a metal, sloped-front enclosure, was powered by AC power and included a separate foot controller unit for changing the speed of the effect's modulation". The effects pedal had eventually been discontinued and today, the original remaining Uni-Vibe pedals in good working condition are rare and command high prices in the vintage gear market.